Events

The Colourful Coast partners are planning plenty of events along the Copeland coast during 2018.  Whether you want to come with the family to join in with a sandcastle competition, take a guided walk to St Bees head or volunteer at our community tidy up days we’d love to see you!

2018 events

Thursday 24 May ‘Introduction to biological recording’ workshop 10am – 3pm, free event but booking is essential – please get in touch for more details

Wednesday 6 June Birkhams Quarry work day 12.30pm – 3pm.

170607 Maintenance visit 1

 

Wednesday 20 June Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 25 July St Bees beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm. See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 4 August St Bees Beached Art, with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Wednesday 8 August Birkhams Quarry work day 12.30pm – 3pm.

Wednesday 15 August Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 12 September St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon. See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 15 September Whitehaven Great British Beach Clean (with the Marine Conservation Society) 10.30am – 12 noon

Saturday 15 September St Bees Great British Beach Clean (with the Marine Conservation Society) 1.30pm – 3pm

Sunday 16 September Heritage Open Day Fog Signal Station walk, 10.30am – 3.30pm

cof

Wednesday 17 October Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 November St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 12 December Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

For more information on any of these events please contact us.  We’ll be adding more events to the list throughout the year so check back regularly to see what we’re up to!

* Beach clean information *

We provide all the equipment you’ll need (litterpickers, bin bags, gloves, sometimes even biscuits!).  Boots or wellies are recommended.  Please dress according to the weather (raincoat, suncream, sunhat).  In St Bees we meet at the lifeboat end of the main car park.  In Whitehaven we meet at the parking machines on North Shore, behind Tesco.  Thanks to Copeland Borough Council for collecting the rubbish we find.

Previous 2018 events

Wednesday 24 January St Bees beach clean 10.30 – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 February Whitehaven beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm. See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 3 March, St Bees Great British Spring Clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Sunday 4 March, Whitehaven Great British Spring Clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 March St Bees beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 11 April Whitehaven beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 14 April, St Bees Beach clean with Surfers Against Sewage, see their event page for more information

Sunday 15 April, Whitehaven Beach Clean with Surfers Against Sewage, see their event page for more information

Wednesday 9 May St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon. See beach clean information, below.