Events

The Colourful Coast partners are planning plenty of events along the Copeland coast during 2018.  Whether you want to come with the family to join in with a sandcastle competition, take a guided walk to St Bees head or volunteer at our community tidy up days we’d love to see you!

2018 events

Wednesday 12 September St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon. See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 15 September Whitehaven Great British Beach Clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below

Sunday 16 September Heritage Open Day Fog Signal Station walk, 10.30am – 3.30pm ***FULLY BOOKED***

cof

Wednesday 17 October Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 November St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 12 December Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

For more information on any of these events please contact us.  We’ll be adding more events to the list throughout the year so check back regularly to see what we’re up to!

* Beach clean information *

We provide all the equipment you’ll need (litterpickers, bin bags, gloves, sometimes even biscuits!).  Boots or wellies are recommended.  Please dress according to the weather (raincoat, suncream, sunhat).  In St Bees we meet at the lifeboat end of the main car park.  In Whitehaven we meet at the parking machines on North Shore, behind Tesco.  Thanks to Copeland Borough Council for collecting the rubbish we find.

Previous 2018 events

Wednesday 24 January St Bees beach clean 10.30 – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 February Whitehaven beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm. See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 3 March, St Bees Great British Spring Clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Sunday 4 March, Whitehaven Great British Spring Clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 14 March St Bees beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Wednesday 11 April Whitehaven beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm.  See beach clean information, below.

Saturday 14 April, St Bees Beach clean with Surfers Against Sewage, see their event page for more information

Sunday 15 April, Whitehaven Beach Clean with Surfers Against Sewage, see their event page for more information

Wednesday 9 May St Bees beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon. See beach clean information, below.

Thursday 24 May ‘Introduction to biological recording’ workshop 10am – 3pm, free event but booking is essential – please get in touch for more details

Wednesday 6 June Work and Walk at Birkhams Quarry 12.00pm – 3pm

Wednesday 20 June Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Thursday 21 June Wildflower and plant ID workshop, 10am – 3pm, please get in touch for more information about this free workshop

Thursday 19 July Introduction to Insects ID day, 10am – 3pm.

Wednesday 25 July St Bees beach clean, 2pm – 3.30pm. See beach clean information, below

Thursday 26 July Haig grasslands Big Butterfly Count 2pm – 2.30pm

Wednesday 1 August Haig grasslands Big Butterfly Count 2pm – 2.30pm

Thursday 2 August St Bees Sea Watch with Cumbria Wildlife Trust 2.30pm – 4pm

Saturday 4 August St Bees Beached Art, with Cumbria Wildlife Trust, 11am – 5pm

Wednesday 8 August Birkhams Quarry work day 10am – 1pm.

Wednesday 15 August Whitehaven beach clean, 10.30am – 12 noon.  See beach clean information, below.

Sunday 19 August, Get Cumbria buzzing at Florence Arts Centre, 10am until 4pm