Events

Beach clean in the sunshine

The Colourful Coast partners have got plenty of events going on all along the Copeland coast during 2017.  Whether you want to come with the family to join in with a sandcastle competition, take a guided walk to St Bees head or volunteer at our community tidy up days we’d love to see you!  We’ll be updating this page regularly so keep checking for the latest updates.  Get in touch if you’d like more information about any of the events.

Saturday 25 March Capturing our Coast volunteer training day

Saturday 8 April St Bees beach clean with Surfers against Sewage

Sunday 9 April Whitehaven beach clean with Surfers against Sewage

IMG-20170409-WA0006

Saturday 15 April Cadbury egg hunt

Sunday 30 April Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Sunday 28 May Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Saturday 3 June Whitehaven Sandcastle Competition

Saturday 3 June St Bees Rockpool ramble and storytelling with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Sunday 4 June Guided ‘Seabird Saunter’ to St Bees Head

Wednesday 7 June Birkhams Quarry landscape restoration work day

Thursday 15 June Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Saturday 17 June St Bees fete

Tuesday 20 June Evening wildflower walk along the Haig grasslands

Visitors looks for wildflowers

National Trust Ranger Chris shows visitors the hidden wildflower gems that can be found along the Whitehaven coast

Saturday 24 June Whitehaven low tide safari

Saturday 1 July Whitehaven Carnival

Sunday 2 July Haig Bioblitz

Wednesday 19 July Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Thursday 27 July ‘50 things to do before you’re 11 ¾’ Activity Day on the Whitehaven Coast

Saturday 29 July St Bees Beached Art organised by Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Tuesday 1 August Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Sunday 6 August Whale and dolphin watch at St Bees Head with Cumbria Wildlife Trust

Thursday 10 August ‘50 things to do before you’re 11 ¾’ Activity Day on the Whitehaven Coast

Saturday 12 August Birkhams Quarry landscape restoration work day

Thursday 31 August ‘50 things to do before you’re 11 ¾’ Activity Day on the Whitehaven Coast

Saturday 9 September Haig history walk for Heritage Open Days

St Bees Head Fog Signal Station

St Bees Head Fog Signal Station

Sunday 10 September St Bees Head Fog Signal Station walk for Heritage open Days

Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October Whitehaven Coast Wild Art week

Sunday 5 November Whitehaven community bonfire